Announcement 7

Media & Events
Announcement 7

ILF Awards $205,000 To SA’s Future Industry Leaders

Manufacturing, mining, engineering, electronics and pharmaceuticals are all South Australian industries that will benefit from this year’s round of development grants by the Industry Leaders Fund Incorporated (ILF).

$205,000 has been awarded between 16 of the state’s most talented applicants in the organisation’s fourth year of annual grants funding.

This represents a 105% increase on grants awarded last year, and an increase of seven grantees.

Innes Willcox, Chief Executive of the Ai Group presented grants ranging from $5,000 to $25,000 at a ceremony on Thursday 6 September to:

  • Jenna Barnes, Mechanical Engineer, Nystar, Port Pirie
  • Peter Charlesworth, Business Leader, Minelab, Torrensville
  • Mark Coupe, Operations Manager, Futuris Automotive, Edinburgh
  • Thomas Clifford, Manager, Corporate Brands and Regional Markets, Asia, The Detmold Group, Brompton
  • Peter Cox, CEO, Gelista Premium Gelati, Ridleyton
  • Andrew Downs, Managing Director, SAGE Automation, Melrose Park
  • Pia Goetjens, Auto Electrician, BGC Contracting, Whyalla
  • Jeremy Hawkes, Managing Director, Bowhill Engineering, Bow Hill
  • Hamish Hogben, Operations Manager, TI Automotive, Kilburn
  • Richard Inwood, Manager – People and Business, Tindo Solar, Mawson Lakes
  • Alexander Jenner-O’Shea, Project Engineer, SJ Cheesman, Port Pirie
  • Shane Kelly, Managing Director, Kelly Engineering, Booleroo Centre
  • Ben Marsh, National Sales and Marketing Manager, REDARC, Lonsdale
  • Stephanie Morris, Chief Operating Officer, Madeleine Pharmaceuticals, Adelaide
  • Dale Roberts, CEO, KOJO, Kent Town
  • John Scott, General Manager Operations, SMR Automotive, Lonsdale

Grants awarded go towards study at the prestigious Harvard Business School in Boston, USA; Mt Eliza, Melbourne Business School; Shinka Management Lean Manufacturing Japan Study Tour; INSEAD Business School in Paris; France, Wharton University in Philadelphia, USA; Uni SA; and the University of Adelaide.

ILF CEO Geoff Vogt said it is the organisation’s intention that grant recipients become industry leaders in the state and will go on to generate wealth-creating, world-competitive, value-adding opportunities and in turn, work towards creating and re-establishing a head office mentality in South Australia.

“The grants are intended to support individuals who can demonstrate their leadership potential and interest in sharing the benefit of their talents, knowledge and achievements with the industry in which they work and the community in which they live”, Mr Vogt said.

“This year, the Board was specifically impressed by the high calibre and diversity of applicants, which was evidenced in the record number of grants.”

“The ILF is rapidly gaining recognition by business leaders as the principal fund in its field and the significant achievements of grantees to date is both humbling and rewarding”, he said.

Testimony to that success, ILF Honorary Chairman, Colin Peters, announced the establishment of the Chairman’s Foundation, enabling individuals and businesses to make contributions that will enable more grants to more deserving applicants over the very long term.

Chairman of the Board’s newly implemented Industry Leaders Fund Grantee Network (ILFGN) Chair Anthony Kittel, introduced members of the group’s organising committee.  Membership of the ILFGN is open to all grantees since the Fund’s inception in 2009 who wish to share experiences and improve the outcomes of their learning and business endeavours.

Potential applicants for grants in 2014 are encouraged to contact the ILF and look for more details at

Applications close on Friday the 30 May 2014.

Enquiries to:

Geoff Vogt
CEO, Industry Leaders Fund.
Phone: 8300 0130 or 0457 900 202

PHOTOS: of individual winners available on request.
DETAILS: of winners included on Background accompanying this release.