Media Release

SA “New Economy” Executives, Dominate Industry Leaders Fund Grants in 2019

SA new economy executives, dominate Industry Leaders Fund grants in 2019

Companies creating intellectual property, rather than physical goods, have dominated the successful applications to the 2019 Industry Leaders Fund (ILF) grants program.

The ILF, which helps future SA business leaders achieve their full potential through professional education, presented a record 36 grants totalling $372,000 to scholars at an awards ceremony on Monday, September 23 at the Adelaide Convention Centre.

More than one third of the Funds 2019 scholars work in new economy businesses with intellectual property driving growth in sectors such as space, information technology, aeronautics, systems engineering and marketing research.

This years scholar list reflects the States exposure to the new economy with companies producing intangible IP or innovative products which are internationally known, said ILF chief executive Geoff Vogt.

These leaders will be integral to boosting South Australias economy with the grant scheme demonstrating a creation of 1657 new jobs in scholars businesses in the State and another 1754 interstate at January 2019.

The Scheme is an efficient job creator on international standards with the average grant cost per job created calculated to be less than $1000 since the scheme began in 2009, Mr Vogt said.

The new scholars will attend programs offered by Harvard Business School, INSEAD, Oxfords Said Business School, Melbourne Business School, the University of Adelaide, Stanford Graduate School of Business, the University of South Australia and IMD (Switzerland).

Recipients comprise executives, managers and leaders from diverse industry sectors such as agribusiness, energy and mining, IT, energy, engineering, marketing and space.

Now in its tenth year, the ILF program has awarded 178 grants totalling $2.1 million and provides a platform for the States business entrepreneurs and leaders to fast-track their careers through the knowledge and experience gained from their educational opportunities.

Among the new 2019 scholars are;

Iain Cartwright, principal engineer for spacecraft and mission at four-year-old company Myriota which helps monitor remote assets globally using Internet of Things technology who will undertake a professional management program at the University of Adelaide.

LogicPlus Chief Executive Joanna Chronis who will study the president and owner management course at Harvard Business School to allow her company to exceed expectations in the highly competitive Australian IT services market.

The ILF, a non-government organisation, is private-sector funded and has cemented its position as the leading fund in its field since transitioning from a state-based apprentice training scheme.

It is now recognised as the states leading education grants provider and is credited with developing some of South Australias highest achievers.

The 2019 scholars are: Herve Astier (Neumann Space), Amanda Baldwin (GDay Group Holdings), Nicholas Berry (Seed Terminator), Iain Cartwright and Julia Johnson (Myriota), Adrian Cerchez (Chem-Supply), Joanna Chronis and Jason Nagy (LogicPlus), Tarnia Conti (Lightforce Australia), Katherine Donaldson (Praxis Aeronautics), Penni-Anne Donato (Allin Towbars), Bronte Eckermann (Eckermann & Associates), Bill Efrosinis (Autumn Fruits), Adam Faulkner (Northern Adelaide Waste Management Authority), Aaron Fiora (Littlehampton Bricks), Sarah Hibbard (Consilium Technology), Tania Jolley (DNA Security Solutions), Donald Kay (Don Alan Pty Ltd), Gary Krix (Krix Loudspeakers), Jonasz Marek (Klein Tools), Stephen McGrath (Peregrine Group), Mary Mercuri (Ennio International), Brett Miller (ATi Implants), Karen Nelson-Field (Centre for Amplified Intelligence), Alana Newell (Rising Sun Pictures), Rhona Parker-Benton (Brayfield Park Lavender), Steven Patriarca (Naval Group Australia), Andrew Ramsay (Mobo Group), Vito Rinaldi (Blue Crystal Solutions), John Salerno (Dedicated Systems Australia), Ben Smit (Teamgage), Matthew Stead (Resonate Consultants), Gregory Stevens (Toolcraft Australia), Virginia Suttell (Cooper Energy), Michael Waite (Shoal Group) and Jane Wang (Oz Minerals).

This years scholars were presented with their grants by the ILFs inaugural Scholar, Anthony Kittel, Managing Director of SA success story Redarc and recipient of an Honorary Doctorate from Flinders University. .

Geoff Vogt
CEO Industry Leaders Fund Inc

0457 900 202